top-left

Reviews

Submit your review
1
2
3
4
5
Submit
     
Cancel
Create your own review
Average rating:  
 0 reviews
Pete, Scotland

Never expected the highlight of my trip to be a hostel in hastings! It was worth apple picking 6 days a week for all the fun I had here
Posted: Tuesday 10 September 2015

BBH website review

Awesome atmosphere, great staff, nice building, huge kitchen!!
Posted: Friday 1 March 2015

Mary, Ireland

Very helpful staff here who found me work within a week of arriving. Seasonal Work can be tough but the fun you have in the hostel makes it worthwhile
Posted: Thursday 31 January 2015

BBH website review

The best hostel I’ve ever stayed in! Friendly atmosphere, clean, cheap, helpful staff(got us all jobs)! It’s like one big happy family! The owner, Jason, is amazing and get people together by arranging social events like killer pool and theme parties :)
Posted: Wednesday 9 January 2015

Maaike, Holland

The first place that, during travelling, really felt like a home away from home. The atmosphere is relaxed but lively. There are always people around up for a talk or an activity. The staff do a great job at finding work for you and make sure you’re doing ok. Everything you need (bars,shops etc) are nearby so you have a great time while making money!
Posted: Sunday 2 December 2012

Louise, London

I came to Hastings looking for work and am really happy I ended up at the Rotten Apple – this place is awesome! Will sorted me with a job (for decent money) within days of getting here and also gave me advice on getting a bank account and IRD number. Jason (the owner) does a great job of getting everyone involved and making sure you have a good time… I can guarantee that once you’re here; you won’t want to leave! Cheers guys!;)
Posted: Thursday 1 November 2012

Avril, Lesneven, France

It is my first week in New Zealand and I come to Rotten Apple. It is fantastic because it feels like we are all family. I make lots of friends and enjoy every day 😉
Posted: Tuesday 23 October 2012

Lonely Planet (13th edition)

“Rotten Apple is the pick of the crop, so to speak. The harvest air hangs thick with the funk of labour, but spacey communal areas, a big-screen TV, pool table reading room and tidy dorms are saving graces”
Posted: Saturday 1 September 2012

Jan, Czech Republic

Best time in New Zealand!!
Posted: Tuesday 10 July 2012

Georg, Germany

The Rotten Apple staff found me a good job in the orchard AND has the best parties EVERY weekend. Will definitely come back again before I leave New Zealand.
Posted: Friday 29 April 2011

Juan, Valladolid, Spain

My favourite backpackers I visit in New Zealand. Thank you to Jason and everyone of the Rotten Apple :)
Posted: Wednesday 9 February 2011

Danni, Wales

Worked hard for my money apple-thinning but the Rotten Apple delivered some really good times 😉
Posted: Thursday 21 January 2010

Jenny, Cornwall, England

Spent my first few weeks in NZ at the Rotten Apple and it set my trip up perfectly… THANKS to everyone for such A WICKED TIME!!
Posted: Friday 27 November 2009

Piyush, NZ

I just want to extend a note of thanks to you and the team for the time I had at Rotten Apple. I enjoyed my stay and what really stood out was the warmth and friendliness of the residents and staff alike.
Posted: Wednesday 1 July 2009

BBH website review

“Had the best weeks of my whole time in NZ in this place.. thank you:) Great atmosphere, nice people” 10/10 stayed 50 nights
Posted: Thursday 18 June 2009

BBH website Review

The Rotten Apple is a great place to stay; it has a really chilled atmostphere and once you get settled in, you feel like part of the family. As promised, the staff found me work and have helped make my time here so much fun. This is definitely not a place that anyone could forget in a hurry… for all the right reasons :)
Posted: Friday 29 May 2009

BBH website review

“The best managers ever! Great atmosphere, great kitchen, i loved it!” 9/10 stayed 40 nights.
Posted: Monday 20 April 2009

Sarah, Canada

You haven’t just created a great hostel here, you’ve created a home for all your backpackers.
Posted: Friday 20 February 2009

Anna, Germany

I had a amazing time here, I will always remember you
Posted: Friday 7 November 2008

Katia and Luis, Brazil

It’s been a very enjoyable stay, I hope we’ll come again some time.
Posted: Sunday 18 May 2008

Dave, England

Was only gonna spend the weekend here but had so much fun, I ended up getting a job and staying for 7 weeks
Posted: Wednesday 23 April 2008

top-right